A Day of Service Honoring Dr. King – 25 Reasons We Serve

Monday, January 17, 2011 – A Day of Service Honoring Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

City Year Detroit launches our blog today – the 25th Anniversary of the national MLK holiday – in honor of the life and work of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. City Year’s mission to build democracy through citizen service, civic leadership and social entrepreneurship is exemplified by our leadership role in service projects throughout Metro Detroit. Dr. King said that “Everybody can be great, because everybody can serve.” As we enter into a day of service at schools, shelters and other programs that improve the lives of children and their families, we reflect.

25 Reasons Why We Serve

  1. I serve because City Year’s heroes — JFK, RFK, MLK, Rosa Parks, Nelson Mandela and Gandhi – have been my own personal heroes since I was in my 20’s, the age of the average corps member. I am inspired by the mission to “give a year. change the world” and by the vision that “Someday, the most commonly asked question of a young adult will be …. “So, where are you doing YOUR service year?” … and that someday, giving a year of full time service will be the NORM. 🙂 Penny Bailer, Executive Director, City Year Detroit
  2. Detroit is my home. I serve so that others won’t let it turn into just a house-simply shelter with no sense of belonging. I serve so that others will care and serve too! Crystal Moss, Comcast Team of City Heroes
  3. I serve for my parents, who showed me that even when it seems like you have nothing, you can always give to someone else. For my teachers, who showed me that the only way this world will ever get better is if everyone has the chance to learn. And for the people of Detroit (especially CYD), who show me every day that while we may be down, don’t ever count us out. “We hope for better things. It shall rise again.” Anna Chrisman, United Way Team at Osborn College Preparatory Academy
  4. I serve because I believe that you get out of people and communities what you are willing to invest. Invest hope, passion and commitment and that is what you will get in return. Joel Gullickson, United Way Team at Academy of Critical Thinkers, Cody High School
  5. I serve because I am a Mother and a Detroiter. How are these the same? Dedication + perseverance + creativity = yields beyond our wildest imaginations. Jenna Moritz, Americorps VISTA 2010-2011.
  6. I serve because last year I saw all of the potential the youth of this city has. I serve because I want to be part of Detroit’s return to greatness. Steven Shelley, Comcast Team serving Young Heroes
  7. I serve because I want to help others achieve their dreams and there is no better time than today to do so. Natalie Anderson, Comcast Team serving City Heroes
  8. I serve to inspire my students to reach higher and discover the world. Colleen Marquis, United Way Team at Academy of Critical Thinkers, Cody High School
  9. I served because I wanted to make a difference in the life of at least one child. I served and continue to serve to make sure that others have this same opportunity. Stacy Balsley-Younis, CYD Alum 2003-2005 and Current Staff – Recruitment Director
  10. I serve to change hearts and minds, to provide young adults with the value of education and to put a smile on someone else’s face. Gail Spielmann, United Way Team at Academy of Critical Thinkers, Cody High School
  11. I serve because I refuse to be impartial to the injustice we pass for education. Heidi Bombrisk, CSX Team at Vetal Elementary
  12. I serve because growing I always had mentor. My mentor changed my life by consistently being there for me when I need him. So I feel if I could change one child’s life by being caring, loving, and open minded, I have come one step closer to changing the world. Also I’m from Detroit and I feel that I should serve my community, because it helped mold me into the young man I am today. Geno Gresham, Henry Ford Health System Team at Palmer Park Preparatory Academy
  13. I serve because, by picking up a pencil and tutoring, I’m helping to craft my student’s futures. Helping out in the classroom is one thing that I can do day in and day out; And this, I believe, is the best way to protect my country from enemies both foreign and domestic. P. Alexander Sanders, CSX Team at Vetal Elementary
  14. I serve because I have children of my own and want to show them they can make a difference. Delisa Beavers, United Way Team at Academy of Critical Thinkers, Cody High School
  15. I serve because every child deserves a quality education delivered by someone who cares about them. Sarah Gurney, Henry Ford Health System Team at Palmer Park Preparatory Academy
  16. I serve because as a mother, I feel it is my obligation to make sure that EVERY child, everywhere, has the opportunity to rise to their highest potential. Allison McElroy, Deputy Executive Director, City Year Detroit
  17. Because I want to teach kids that they can succeed despite the environment they grow up in. Jatonna Stewart, United Way Team at Academy of Critical Thinkers, Cody High School
  18. I serve because every child deserves help, love and support. My younger brother’s recent diagnosis of Asperger’s Syndrome, coupled with his subsequent leaps of improvement, have shown me that young people cannot be left to navigate their childhoods alone. Holly Fournier, CSX Team at Vetal Elementary
  19. I serve because I want to give children the opportunities that I had. I was very fortunate to have many wonderful mentors, and I hope that I can impact just one child’s life in the way that mine has been influenced. Heather Tait, Diplomas Now Team at Emerson Middle School
  20. I serve because I am passionate about working with youth and I think I can make a difference with them. Calvin Bagley, United Way Team at Academy of Critical Thinkers, Cody High School
  21. I serve because like Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., I too have a dream. I have a dream that through volunteering and service, we can change the way people live and view the world. Today’s society tells us to love things instead of people and I believe it’s just the opposite; we must love people and use our things. Serving in your community is more than just “a good thing to do” for those in need. It’s about a dream of love, hope and unity. So I serve to help fulfill that dream. Chelsea Wojes, Americorps Volunteer
  22. I serve because ever since I was a little girl I have wanted to make a difference and be a part of something bigger than myself. Diane Gomez, Henry Ford Health System Team at Palmer Park Preparatory Academy
  23. I serve because I believe in the power of people to move mountains. I am constantly in awe of the pure power that is consistently demonstrated by the dynamic young leaders in our corps. To see them give themselves completely to the service they do and return the next day to do it all over again simply because they believe in their own power to change the world provides enough inspiration to last a lifetime. Brandis Taylor, Recruitment Manager, City Year Detroit
  24. I serve to show my community and the young people that there are people who care. United Way Team at Academy of Critical Thinkers, Cody High School
  25. I serve because the children of today, are the future of tomorrow. I mentor and tutor students with the hope that they will take their education and future, our future, seriously. Hannah Barraw, Diplomas Now Team at Emerson School

2010-2011 Corps Members in Service

We look forward to sharing our experiences and reflections on service with our Detroit neighbors and followers. Blogs are meant to be tools to develop and maintain online communities. One way to serve is to help us build a robust online community here through comments, ideas and posts. Let us know what’s your reason for serving!

Up Next: Reflections from a Day of Service

Previous Post: N/A

2 thoughts on “A Day of Service Honoring Dr. King – 25 Reasons We Serve

  1. Pingback: Links We Like – MLK Day Edition

  2. Pingback: Reflections on a Day of Service « City Year Detroit Blog

Leave a Reply

